2018 Revised Regulations 105 CMR 430.000: Minimum Standards for Recreational Camps for Children, Effective March 23, 2018.2018 Revised Regulation
MDPH summary sheet of changes to the Recreational Camp Code.
2018 Code--New Documents and Guidance
Health Care Consultant Agreement
Health Care Consultant Acknowledgement of On-Site Medications
Standards for Training of Health Care Supervisors on Administration of Medication
Daily Log for Medication Administration
Medication Administration Competency Skill Checklist
Standards for Training on Epinephrine Auto-Injectors
Meningococcal Disease Information for Parents
Required Immunizations for Campers and Staff
ANSI-Z308 First Aid Kits-list of supplies
2018 Camp Inspection Form
Checklist for Camp Operators
More information, the 2018 Recreational Camp regulations, and guidance documents and forms, are also available at MDPH's Mass.gov website:
2020 Camp Season Licensing
If you had a licensed camp in 2019, you will be applying for a renewal license. To move forward with the renewal process, please see the 2020 Letter to Camp Operators and 2020 Camp Program Update Form. Please submit the completed Camp Program Update Form to the Concord Health Division no later than April 20, 2020. The Health Division will review your submission and use the information to determine your 2020 Camp Program Fee. Once this is complete, you will receive your 2020 Renewal Application in the mail. Please see the schedule of Camp Fees. MDPH promulgated changes to the recreational camp regulations in 2018. Camps must comply with all requirements of the new regulation prior to issuance of your 2020 license. Please see information above for links to the revised regulation, guidance documents and forms needed for camp licensing.
All camps must have a pre-operational inspection at least one week prior to the program start date.
Please schedule your pre-operational inspection no later than May 15, 2020 in order to accommodate all camp schedules. These inspections cannot be scheduled until all required paperwork is submitted to the Health Department.
If you are planning a Camp for 2020, not previously licensed in Concord, you will need to submit an Application for Recreational Camp (PDF), as well as secure a Site Assignment (PDF) from the Board of Health. This process may take several months, so please plan accordingly. Sample forms and documents may be obtained from the Massachusetts Department of Public Health website.
Note: New camps are required to apply for licensing no later than 90 days prior to the camp opening date, and must have an initial inspection 1 month prior to program start date.
Please review the Recreational Camp Code in its entirety to ensure that your camp meets all code requirements. All camps must comply with Criminal Offender Record Information (CORI) and Sex Offenders Registry Board (SORI) requirements. If you have not been assigned an agency code reviewer number, you will need to go through this process prior to submitting your CORI/SORI requests. Again, note that this process may take several weeks.
Massachusetts General Law c. 111, §127A½, commonly referred to as Christian's Law, was enacted on July 12, 2012. The law requires that all municipal and recreational programs or licensed camps conducting swimming at fresh or saltwater beaches must:
- Ensure that all minors are swim tested at the first swimming session
- Provide a properly sized and snug fitting personal flotation device (PFD) type I, II, or III to all minor children determined to be either a non-swimmer or an at-risk swimmer
- Allow parents or legal guardians to provide their own properly fitting PFD to the child if they so choose
Tick Education Requirements
All licensed camps are required to distribute the following materials to parents of campers
Camp Guide to Preventing Tickborne Illness At Camp (PDF)
Memo to Camp Operators (PDF)
Tick Information Card for distribution to parents
How to Order Tick Cards
Download the Tick Education Card Order Form (PDF) and complete with your mailing address and how many cards you will need then simply fax the form to: Massachusetts Department of Public Health Bureau of Infectious Disease at 978-640-9671.